Mystics honored for contributions

BOSTON, MA — The annual Winter Party was held at Anthem on Friday 30 January, and saw the club honor the members who’ve contributed to the club over the course of 2014. This year was particularly eventful for the Mystics as we fielded sides in both DI and DII. New coach Josh Smith led both sides to a combined 15-2 record that has left both teams in a position to challenge for nationals this spring, and we’ve all seen a huge amount of growth in the club both on and off the field.

As part of all these changes, this year’s awards saw hugely increased competition in every category, which is telling as to how many members have made big contributions to the club on and off the field. The following members received awards for 2014:

Award Recipient(s)
Ron Prime Memorial Cup Dale du Preez
Max Schlieffer Supporter Award Joseph Kimemiah
Cliff Whitehead Old Boy Award Tom Clark
DI MVP Forwards Joe “Hollywood” Shurmaitis
DI MVP Backs Pono Haitsuka
DII MVP Forwards Jeff “Bluey” Laflamme
DII MVP Backs Nick Fujiwara
Most Improved Player Mike Spiro
Bart Brennan Rookie of the Year Pono Haitsuka
Bumbling Barbarian Award Nate Fox and Giani Miceli