Mystic Collegiate Select XV 3rd Annual Tour to Montreal

MALDEN, MA – The Mystic River Rugby Collegiate Select XV will be traveling to Montreal, Quebec on Friday, June 19 to take on the Lower Canada Voyageurs for their third annual rugby contest. The 25 members of the Collegiate Select squad were selected following two weeks of tryouts hosted at Pine Banks Park in Malden, MA. The player pool consists of players who attend a variety of colleges across the country. The Lower Canada Voyageurs are a representative U19 side drawn from Eastern Ontario and Quebec.

Special thanks are due to Mystic’s platinum tour sponsors, Concord Wealth Management and G.F. Sprague Roofing. Thanks are also due to the Mystic volunteer coaching and logistical team who have put the trip together and devoted their time to the tryout sessions.

The Mystics are hoping to maintain their unbeaten record against the Voyageurs. The two teams played each other to a standstill in their first match which ended with a tie. Last season the Mystics fought back in the last twenty minutes of the game to score 19 unanswered points on their way to beating the Voyageurs. Friday night’s match should prove to be another exciting, well-contested game of rugby.

The following players and coaches will be representing their respective colleges and country this weekend:


  • Dylan Amore – Keene State
  • Hunter Boech – Fairfield University
  • David Caputo – University of Michigan
  • Ben Casey – Cal Berkeley
  • Dave Chinappi – Providence College
  • Mike Cirbee – Virginia Tech
  • John Daley – Syracuse University
  • Connor Daley – University of Vermont
  • Cody Davidowicz – Plymouth State
  • Casey Guerrero – Middleton
  • Joe Hastry – University of Massachusetts
  • Devin Ibanez – University of Massachusetts
  • Cheech Marin – University of Vermont
  • Sean McElhinney – Northeastern University
  • Ben Nathan – Boston College
  • Timmy O’Conner – University of Massachusetts
  • Jamie Santo – Penn State
  • Seif Sonbaty – Plymouth State
  • Sam Sutera – University of Massachusetts
  • Thomas Thekaekara – University of Massachusetts
  • Davonta Valentine – Salve Regina University
  • Oliver Vickery – University of Massachusetts
  • Mike Weinstein – Wesleyan College
  • Zack Whelan – Northeastern University


  • Kareem Afifi – Tufts University
  • Tom Clark – St. Johns Prep
  • Mike Bozza – Mystic River Rugby Club
  • Dimitri Efthimiou – American International College
  • Lee Bartlett – Mystic River Rugby Club
  • Alex Brussard – Tufts University
  • Peter Haxson – Mystic River Rugby Club